Board d'ambiance of the Aerostat line inspired by hot air balloons and antique hot air balloons under Louis XVI

Like a wandering mirage, I float and travel.
Coloured by the dawn and the evening in turn,
Aerial mirror, I'm reflecting by the way
The changing smiles of the day.

Louise-Victorine Ackermann, The Cloud

In December 2017, the Aerostat line completes the Res Mirum collection.

Majestic aerostats, aerostats fascinate by their imposing silhouettes, but also because they evoke the journey of another time, the dream ... but above all, the first aerostats in history finally give us a glimpse of the possibility of realizing one of the oldest dreams of human beings: to fly! Thus, these first balloons mark the beginning of the conquest of the sky. Let's take a little leap back in time and retrace the epic story of the very beginnings of aeronautics through the history of these very first balloons.

 

AÉROSTATS, AÉRONEFS, OU AÉRODYNES ?

Aerostats are machines that fly because they are lighter than air (Archimedes' thrust principle). Planes, helicopters, rockets... are aerodynes; they are heavier than air, and use a dynamic force to fly. Aerostats and aerodynes together make up the group of aircraft.

 

BIRTH OF AEROSTATION

For a long time in history there have been references to experiments that were attempted to fly, more or less creative - not to say far-fetched, and not really effective - until 1782, when things took a more serious turn.

Two individuals see a light piece of cloth filled with warm air rising in the air, and think that there is something to be gained from this observation.

The idea would be to build a balloon with a cloth or paper envelope and fill it with hot air. It's a good idea, they have the technical and material means to build it, they own an important paper mill, located in Annonay, a few dozen kilometers south of Lyon: the Montgolfier paper mill. Our two protagonists are the brothers Etienne and Joseph Montgolfier, whose name will soon pass to posterity.

So they began to build a small balloon, one cubic metre in size, which they filled with smoke produced with damp straw mixed with wool and paper, because they thought that smoke is the material that makes up clouds... then they built a bigger one, 3m³, then 12m³, and as the experiment was conclusive, they moved on to the construction of an 800m³ balloon at the beginning of 1783. They will inaugurate the flight of this balloon in public on June 4, 1783, and it is this date which will generally be retained in History as marking the very beginning of aerostation.

 

THE POSTERITY OF BALLOONS

Their experience reaches the ears of the Academy of Sciences, and the Montgolfier brothers are invited to come to Paris to demonstrate it in front of King Louis XVI. They then built an even bigger balloon on the spot. But for the time being, the tests have officially been carried out without humans on board; too dangerous... So to prove that it is possible, they attach to this balloon a gondola with a cock, a sheep and a duck inside. On September 19, 1783, in front of the astonished crowd and the royal family, the balloon took off, carrying its passengers to an altitude of 600m and covering a few kilometers. The flight is a success! The final step is to build a balloon that can carry humans; a new one, 2400m³, is therefore rebuilt. Two months later, on November 21, 1783, the first official manned flight took place, which will remain engraved in our memories. This aerostat, named New Year's Eve will remain famous, its image will cross the centuries; so much so that everyone knows it today, for reasons that you will discover.

Les frères Montgolfier accèdent à la reconnaissance, et reçoivent notamment le titre de chevalier.

OF INTREPID AERONAUTS

If we can admire the creativity of the Montgolfier family, we must salute the audacity of the first men who embarked on board their invention, thus becoming the first aeronauts: the Marquis of Arlande, who is already one of the precursors of parachuting, and Jean-François Pilâtre de Rozier, an intrepid conqueror of space who became the first iconic aeronaut by making several flights by the followingyou. A little later he developed his own aerostat, a different technology, called a hot air balloon or rozière, in which he lost his life trying to cross the English Channel.

Just a few months later, on June 4, 1784, a young Lyonnaise named Elisabeth Tible took her place aboard the aerostat. La Gustavebecoming the first female aerostat operator.

Other famous people come to enamel the history of aeronautics: Let us mention in particular Jean-Pierre Blanchard, the first professional aeronaut in History, who would cross the Channel a few months later and perform hundreds of ascents; let us also mention his wife Sophie Blanchard, the first professional aeronaut in History in the early 1800s, who received the title of official aeronaut of the Restoration; André-Jacques Garnerin, who would be the inventor of parachuting, and his wife Jeanne Labrosse, one of the very first aeronauts and the first woman to jump by parachute in 1799.

 

THE BALLOON VS. THE CHARLIÈRE

Were the Montgolfier brothers innovative forerunners, or did they just get carried away by circumstances? Undeniably, the two Ardéchois were inventive technicians; but what popular memory remembers from History is not always full of nuances. However, several concomitant events, sometimes even much older, deserve consideration.

For example, about 2000 years ago, the Chinese had already invented the celestial lantern, small rice paper balloons that rise into the air with burners that heat the air inside.

The numerous inventors who took an interest in the question in this Enlightenment, the discoveries and scientific advances, particularly in chemistry and physics, made the emergence of this invention propitious. In 1766, for example, the properties of a gas that was much lighter than air, hydrogen, were highlighted.

So when he heard about the very first tests of the Montgolfier, a chemistry professor named Jacques Charles began to build an aerostat himself, except that he preferred to inflate it with this new gas. He will thus play an important role in this adventure; his "aerostatic machine" is much more accomplished than that of the Montgolfier, and its flight is much more efficient. But the official demonstration of his flying machine, named "charlière", was a few days ahead of schedule by the papermaking brothers...

 

THE IMPACT ON THE CULTURE, FROM JULES VERNE TO STEAMPUNK.

To see these immense globes take flight is at the time something extraordinary, a real feat. The ballomania broke out, balloons were fashionable, and they were represented everywhere: trinkets, art objects, measuring instruments, jewellery, tableware, earthenware and porcelain, decoration, illustrations, and even clothing fashion, which was adorned with balloon sleeves and dresses. Aerostats will deeply mark popular culture through literary works such as those of writers Jules Verne and Edgar Allan Poe, and until today still through the steampunk movement ...

 

THE EVOLUTION TOWARDS AIRSHIPS AND ZEPPELINS

Very quickly, we will try to control their flight, because it must be stressed that until now these flying machines are totally subject to air currents, they can only go up or down and glide with the wind. But it will take no less than 50 years for the français Henri Giffard found a way to steer these balloons using a steam engine, thus creating the first airship, and more than 100 years to see the first zeppelin emerge.

In the second half of the 19th century, the possibility of flying heavier-than-air machines began to be seen... but that's another story.

 

OF THE BALLOON WITH THE CANSON LOGO

The Montgolfier paper mill, which in 1784 was awarded the title of Manufacture Royale by King Louis XVI, became a few years later, through inheritance and marriage, the Canson company.

L’entreprise se spécialisa peu à peu dans les papiers de qualité pour les cahiers à dessin et les arts graphiques, et utilisa sur ses produits l’image du fameux premier aérostat du 21 novembre 1783 sujet du premier vol humain.

Over time, the image became simpler and more stylised, to the point of simply becoming the logo of the brand... and it is in this form that we all know today, without necessarily knowing it, this historical balloon.

Evolution of the Canson logo since the Montgolfiers brothers

 

RES MIRUM AEROSTATS

It is through the very first balloons of the end of the 18th century, reproduced from period illustrations, that Res Mirum retraces the epic of the conquest of the sky.

Hot-air balloons and charlières are thus reproduced in volume, in a cameo style, with the details with which they were richly ornamented. They appear on a surface whose texture evokes a cloudy sky. The symbols of meteorology are engraved on most of the elements; sun, cloud, lightning, rain and rainbow.

 

Sources :
https://www.lateliercanson.com/l-histoire-de-cansonr
Marie Thébaud-Sorger, A history of balloonsTemps & espaces des arts, 2010
http://lettre-gallica.bnf.fr/la-conquête-du-ciel-en-montgolfière
https://www.compagnons-du-vent.fr/blog/histoire-de-laerostation/21-novembre-1783-recit-du-premier-vol-humain/?http://cabanus.e-monsite.com/pages/histoire-des-ballons/ballon-1782-1783.html
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fr%C3%A8res_Montgolfier#cite_note-10

AEROSTAT JEWELRY

0
    0
    Your basket
    Your basket is emptyBack to the shop

    Pin It on Pinterest

    Share This

Planche d'ambiance de la ligne Aérostat inspirée des ballons à air chaud et des montgolfières anciennes sous Louis XVI

Comme un mirage errant, je flotte et je voyage.
Coloré par l’aurore et le soir tour à tour,
Miroir aérien, je reflète au passage
Les sourires changeants du jour.

Louise-Victorine Ackermann, Le Nuage

En décembre 2017, la ligne Aérostat vient compléter la collection Res Mirum.

Majestueux mastodontes aériens, les aérostats fascinent de par leurs imposantes silhouettes, mais aussi parce qu’ils évoquent le voyage d’un autre temps, le rêve… mais avant tout, les premiers aérostats de l’Histoire permettent enfin d’entrevoir la possibilité de concrétiser un des plus vieux rêves de l’être humain : voler ! C’est ainsi que ces premiers ballons marquent le début de la conquête du ciel. Faisons un petit saut dans le temps et retraçons l’épopée des touts débuts de l’aéronautique à travers l’histoire de ces tout premiers ballons.

 

AÉRONEFS & AÉROSTATS

Les aérostats sont des engins qui volent parce qu’ils sont plus légers que l’air (principe de la poussée d’Archimède). Les avions, hélicoptères, fusées… sont des aérodynes ; ils sont plus lourds que l’air, et utilisent une force dynamique pour voler. Aérostats et aérodynes constituent ensemble le groupe des aéronefs.

 

NAISSANCE DE L’AÉROSTATION

Il est fait mention depuis longtemps dans l’Histoire d’expériences qui auraient été tentées pour voler, plus ou moins créatives – pour ne pas dire farfelues, et pas vraiment efficaces… jusqu’à ce qu’en 1782, les choses prennent une tournure plus sérieuse.

Deux individus constatent qu’une pièce de tissu légère remplie d’air chaud s’élève dans l’air, et se disent qu’il y a quelque chose à tirer de cette observation.

L’idée serait de construire un ballon dont l’enveloppe serait en tissu ou en papier, et de le remplir d’air chaud. Ça tombe bien, ils ont les moyens techniques et matériels de le construire, ils sont propriétaires d’une papeterie importante, située à Annonay, à quelques dizaines de kilomètres au sud de Lyon : la papeterie Montgolfier. Nos deux protagonistes sont les frères Étienne et Joseph Montgolfier, dont le nom va passer à la postérité bientôt.

Ils entreprennent donc la construction d’un petit ballon, d’un mètre cube, qu’ils remplissent de fumée produite avec de la paille humide mélangée à de la laine et du papier, car ils se disent que la fumée est la matière qui compose les nuages… puis ils en construisent un plus gros, de 3m³, puis 12m³, et comme l’expérience est concluante, ils passent à la construction d’un ballon de 800m³ début 1783. Ils vont inaugurer  le vol de ce ballon en public le 4 juin 1783, et c’est cette date qui va généralement être retenue dans l’Histoire comme marquant le tout début de l’aérostation.

 

LA POSTÉRITÉ DES MONTGOLFIER

Leur expérience parvient aux oreilles de l’Académie des sciences, et les frères Montgolfier sont invités à venir à Paris pour en faire la démonstration devant le roi Louis XVI. Ils construisent alors sur place un ballon encore plus gros. Mais pour l’instant, les essais ont officiellement été effectués sans humain à bord ; trop dangereux… Alors pour prouver que cela est possible, ils fixent à ce ballon une nacelle avec à l’intérieur un coq, un mouton et un canard. Le 19 septembre 1783, devant la foule médusée et la famille royale, le ballon s’envole, et va transporter ses passagers jusqu’à une altitude de 600m et parcourir quelques kilomètres. Le vol est un succès ! L’ultime étape consiste donc à construire un ballon pouvant transporter des humains ; on en reconstruit donc un nouveau, de  2400m³. Deux mois plus tard, le 21 novembre 1783, a lieu le premier vol habité officiel, qui va rester gravé dans les mémoires. Cet aérostat, du nom de Le Réveillon restera célèbre, son image va traverser les siècles ; si bien que tout le monde le connaît aujourd’hui, pour des raisons que vous allez découvrir.

Les frères Montgolfier passent ainsi à la postérité, et reçoivent notamment le titre de chevalier.

D’INTRÉPIDES AÉRONAUTES

Si on peut admirer la créativité des Montgolfier, il faut saluer l’audace des premiers hommes qui embarquèrent à bord de leur invention, devenant ainsi les premiers aéronautes : le Marquis d’Arlande, qui est déjà l’un des précurseurs du parachutisme, et Jean-François Pilâtre de Rozier, intrépide conquérant de l’espace qui va devenir le premier aéronaute iconique en effectuant plusieurs vols par la suite. Il met au point un peu plus tard son propre aérostat, d’une technologie différente, qu’on appela aéro-montgolfière ou rozière, à bord duquel il perd la vie en tentant de traverser la manche.

A peine quelques mois plus tard, le 4 juin 1784, une jeune Lyonnaise du nom d’Elisabeth Tible prend place à bord de l’aérostat La Gustave, devenant la première femme aérostatière.

D’autres personnages célèbres viennent émailler l’histoire de l’aérostation : citons tout particulièrement  Jean-Pierre Blanchard, premier aéronaute professionnel de l’Histoire, qui va traverser la manche quelques mois plus tard et exécuter des centaines d’ascensions ; citons également son épouse Sophie Blanchard, première aéronaute professionnelle de l’Histoire début 1800, qui reçoit le titre d’aérostière officielle de la Restauration ; André-Jacques Garnerin, qui serait l’inventeur du parachutisme, et son épouse Jeanne Labrosse, l’une des toute premières aéronautes et première femme à sauter en parachute en 1799.

 

LA MONTGOLFIÈRE VS LA CHARLIÈRE

Est-ce que les frères Montgolfier étaient d’innovants précurseurs, ou est-ce qu’ils se sont fait porter par les circonstances ? Indéniablement, les deux Ardéchois étaient d’inventifs techniciens ; mais ce que la mémoire populaire retient de l’Histoire ne s’encombre pas toujours de nuances. Or plusieurs événements concomitants, et même parfois bien plus anciens, méritent considération.

On peut noter par exemple qu’il y a environ 2000 ans, les chinois avaient déjà inventé la lanterne céleste, petits ballons en papier de riz qui s’élèvent dans les airs à l’aide de brûleurs chauffant l’air à l’intérieur.

Les nombreux inventeurs à s’intéresser à la question en ce siècle des lumières, les découvertes et avancées scientifiques notamment en chimie et en physique, rendait propice l’émergence de cette invention. On met par exemple en évidence en 1766 les propriétés d’un gaz à être beaucoup plus léger que l’air : l’hydrogène.

Aussi, lorsqu’il entend parler des tout premiers essais des Montgolfier, un professeur de chimie du nom de Jacques Charles entreprend de construire lui aussi un aérostat, à ceci près qu’il préfère le gonfler de ce nouveau gaz. Il va ainsi jouer un rôle important dans cette aventure ; sa « machine aérostatique » est bien plus aboutie que celle des Montgolfier, et son vol bien plus performant. Mais la démonstration officielle de son engin volant, nommé « charlière », est devancée de quelques jours par les frères papetiers…

 

LES RÉPERCUSSIONS DANS LA CULTURE, DE JULES VERNE AU STEAMPUNK

Voir s’envoler ces globes immenses, est à l’époque quelque chose d’extraordinaire, un véritable exploit. La ballomania se déferle, les ballons sont à la mode, et on les représente partout : bibelots, objets d’art, instruments de mesure, bijoux, arts de la table, faïences et porcelaines, décoration, illustrations, et même la mode vestimentaire qui se pare de manches et de robes ballon. Les aérostats vont marquer profondément la culture populaire au travers d’œuvres littéraires comme celles des écrivains Jules Verne et Edgar Allan Poe, et jusqu’à aujourd’hui encore au travers notamment du mouvement steampunk…

 

L’ÉVOLUTION VERS DIRIGEABLES ET ZEPPELINS

Très vite, on va chercher à en contrôler le vol, car il faut souligner que jusqu’ici ces engins volants sont totalement soumis aux courants aériens, ils ne peuvent que monter ou descendre et planent ainsi au gré des vents. Mais il faudra attendre pas moins de 50 ans pour que le français Henri Giffard trouve le moyen de diriger ces ballons à l’aide d’un moteur à vapeur, créant ainsi le premier dirigeable, et plus de 100 ans pour voir émerger le premier zeppelin.

Dans la seconde moitié du 19è siècle, on commença à entrevoir la possibilité de faire voler des engins plus lourds que l’air… mais c’est une autre histoire.

 

DE LA MONTGOLFIÈRE AU LOGO CANSON

La papeterie Montgolfier, qui se vit décerner en 1784 le titre de Manufacture Royale par le roi Louis XVI devient quelques années plus tard, par le truchement des héritages et des mariages, l’entreprise Canson.

L’entreprise se spécialisa peu à peu dans les papiers de qualité pour les cahiers à dessin et les arts graphiques, et représenta sur ses produits l’image du fameux premier aérostat du 21 novembre 1783 sujet du premier vol humain.

Au fil du temps l’image se simplifia et se stylisa, au point de devenir tout simplement le logo de la marque… et c’est sous cette forme que nous connaissons tous aujourd’hui, sans forcément le savoir, cette montgolfière historique.

Évolution du logo Canson depuis les frères Montgolfiers

 

LES AÉROSTATS DE RES MIRUM

C’est au travers des tout premiers ballons de cette fin du XVIIIè siècle, reproduits d’après des illustrations d’époque, que Res Mirum retrace l’épopée de la conquête du ciel.

Montgolfières et charlières sont ainsi reproduits en volume, façon camée, avec les détails dont ils étaient richement ornementés. Ils figurent sur une surface dont la texture évoque un ciel nuageux. On retrouve gravés sur la plupart des éléments les symboles de la météorologie ; soleil, nuage, éclairs, pluie et arc-en-ciel.

 

Sources :
https://www.lateliercanson.com/l-histoire-de-cansonr
Marie Thébaud-Sorger, Une histoire des ballons, éditions Temps & espaces des arts, 2010
http://lettre-gallica.bnf.fr/la-conquête-du-ciel-en-montgolfière
https://www.compagnons-du-vent.fr/blog/histoire-de-laerostation/21-novembre-1783-recit-du-premier-vol-humain/?http://cabanus.e-monsite.com/pages/histoire-des-ballons/ballon-1782-1783.html
https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fr%C3%A8res_Montgolfier#cite_note-10

LES BIJOUX AÉROSTAT

0
    0
    Votre panier
    Votre panier est videRetour à la boutique

    Affichez votre intérêt

    Partager